Harry Grant named Rugby League Players Association Rookie of the Year

Harry Grant. Picture: Wests Tigers

Harry Grant. Picture: Wests Tigers

Popular Wests Tigers hooker Harry Grant has been named the 2020 Rookie of the Year by the Rugby League Players Association (RLPA).

Grant, who joined the Wests Tigers from the Melbourne Storm in round three this year as part of an historic loan agreement, was a stand-out for the black, orange and white after the Covid shutdown.

The 22-year-old has now finished his time with the Wests Tigers.

Grant had previously played only two games of NRL before joining the Tigers, but went on to dominate in his 15 appearances, scoring three tries and setting up many more.

His outstanding performances saw him sitting on top of the Dally M leaderboard before voting went behind closed doors in round 12.

Grant has also been named in the Queensland Maroons training squad for the upcoming State of Origin series, and received the Wests Tigers' Rookie of the Year award in the end of season Kelly-Barnes Awards Night.

The Rockhampton born number nine was presented with his award in the Maroons' training camp by RLPA board member Daly Cherry-Evans.

Cherry-Evans picked up the same award back in 2011.

The 2019 RLPA Rookie of the Year was Brisbane Bronco Payne Haas.

Fellow Wests Tiger Luke Brooks won the gong in 2014, while Minto-born Trent Hodkinson claimed the award in 2010.

Sonny Bill Williams was the inaugural winner in 2004.

Grant's winning ways could continue at tonight's Dally M awards, if not as the overall winner, then possibly as the hooker of the year. However, he faces fierce competition from the Storm's Cameron Smith.

The RLPA's Player's Champion award will be announced on Sunday, as part of the NRL Grand Final broadcast on Nine.

Menangle product James Tedesco is one of the five finalists in the running for the award - which is voted on by NRL players - alongside, his Sydney Roosters teammate Luke Keary, Canberra Raiders' enforcer Josh Papalii, New Zealand Warriors fullback Roger Tuivasa-Scheck and Penrith Panthers halfback Nathan Cleary.

Tedesco is the reigning RLPA Player's Champion.

This story Harry Grant named Rugby League Players Association Rookie of the Year first appeared on Campbelltown-Macarthur Advertiser.