Fisher’s Ghost Art Award winner announced

Sydney-based artist Brian Fuata was announced as the overall winner of the prestigious Fisher’s Ghost Art Award at Campbelltown Arts Centre on Friday.

More than 600 people attended the awards night.

Agatha Gothe-Snape – whose partner Mitch Cairns won this year’s Archibald Prize for his portrait of her – accepted the art award on the winner’s behalf.

Mr Fuata’s performance piece Care Disfigurements (Soft Hands) earned him the prize.

The winning work features a ‘blank sheet’ upon the body which ‘becomes a text’ through transforming into emails, paper, Word documents, Google sheets and even ghosts.

​“Care Disfigurements (Soft Hands) is a bracket of my ghost structured-improvisations loosely centred around multiple contexts of care,” Mr Fuata said.

Award winners

Award winners

The art award received more than 1100 entries this year.

It was judged by Tony Albert, Fiona Davies and Mikala Tai.

“Brian’s work is considered and compelling and a fantastic extension of his performative Ghost series,” Ms Tai said.

“From a very competitive field his work was a standout and I look forward to seeing how this direction of his practice evolves.”

Campbelltown Arts Centre director Michael Dagostino praised the success of this year’s competition.

“We’re thrilled to be celebrating the largest Fisher’s Ghost Art Award to date in 2018, which also marks Campbelltown Arts Centre’s 30th anniversary.

“We received entries from artists far and wide and it’s wonderful to see such a fantastic display of works from a diverse range of artistic practices.

“I look forward to seeing these artists continue to support the Fisher’s Ghost Art Award and the development of their practice.”


Open Award – Brian Fuata

Contemporary Award – Claudia Nicholson

Traditional Award – Andrew Vanderschoor

Sculpture Award – Rosie Deacon

Photography Award – Valentina Schulte

Primary Awards – Zanab Almaliky, Liam McCleary, Siena Wallace

Secondary Awards – Asmaa Balat, Shane Hobday, Joyel Jiju, Fatima Naqvi

Surrealism Award – Sarah Frost

Macarthur Award – Rhonda Banks

Aboriginal Art Award – Dennis Golding

Macability Award - Peter Gregson